Living n Learning by Amy

Non-Scale Victories #2: Pepsi Next, you are my friend!

Posted on: January 31, 2013

button

I’m linking up again with KTJ and Lex to recognize my non-scale victories.  Katie does a great job of explaining them so I’m going to borrow what she wrote about them.

“Too many of us base our success just on the number we see on the scale, but there is so much more to it! All the little changes we make are helping us make a healthier lifestyle. Whether you lost weight this week or not, let’s celebrate your non-scale victories! So whether you said no to that birthday cake in the office, ran a 5k, or tracked your food every day this week. . . it is time to celebrate!”

So let’s get to it!

Pepsi Next, you are my friend!

If you know me in real life you know I love me some Mountain Dew.  But let’s be honest 170 calories in one can is a lot of empty calories that I’m not getting any benefit from.  I have been doing a really great job of not drinking Mountain Dew during the week, and limiting myself to just one can of soda per day.  Not going to lie, I am addicted to the caffeine.  And not because I need the pick-me-up it offers most people but simply because it’s been a part of my diet for so long I get a headache when I don’t have it.  Seriously, I can drink Mountain Dew right before bed and have no problem falling asleep!

Cutting soda cold turkey is HARD!  So rather than trying to do that I’ve just made the change to a better alternative.  Pepsi Next is only 60 calories per can and has lower sodium and sugar content than Mountain Dew (or other regular sodas).  I’m not saying it is healthy because it’s not, but it is better than Mountain Dew for the most part.  Thanks to my new friend I can still get my daily dose of caffeine but with a little less of everything else.

I see this as a stepping stone to cutting back on my weekly soda intake even more, like less than one a day.

Talk to me…

What is one of your non-scale victories for the week?

7 Responses to "Non-Scale Victories #2: Pepsi Next, you are my friend!"

Getting rid of some liquid calories is a great NSV. I’ve only finally kicked drinking pop all together in December, but you are right that it is hard giving it all up cold turkey. Probably good that you are taking it in small steps by trying a diet first. Thanks for linking up!

I am hoping that by taking small steps to cutting back on my soda intake that I will be more likely to stick with it. Cutting it out cold turkey only makes me want it more because I think I’m deprived of something I should have.

Thanks for hosting!

Yay!! I’m glad your figuring out what works for you. Being “addicted” to pop is seriously hard. I’ve been there girl!

Thanks for stopping by and the support as always! Don’t know what I would do without you!

I feel very lucky to have never struggled with soda! I gave it up when I was 15, and only because I didn’t want it to effect my braces. Good luck with getting away from it! My non scale victory would be enjoying my me time. Not stressing about being idle and realizing things will fall into place when the time is right!

I had braces and would just drink diet soda and/or through a straw.

Sounds like a great NSV for the week. Not stressing about being idle and letting things happen when the time is right is awesome!

[…] I also participated in the Non-Scale Victories link up where I talked about Pepsi Next being my friend.  You can read about my new friend here. […]

Leave a Reply

LivingnLearningbyAmy

LivingnLearningbyAmy

I'm a 20 something college graduate learning how to live life while working, and trying to live a healthier life.

View Full Profile →

Blog Lovin’

Follow on Bloglovin Follow on Bloglovin

Archives

Taking a Look Back

January 2013
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tweets

Meet Weight Loss GoalDecember 18th, 2013

MyFitnessPal - Free Calorie Counter

Disclaimer

The opinions and thoughts shared on this blog are mine and do not represent that of any employer in any way. I am not a registered dietitian or physical trainer. This blog is simply a documentation of my life. The views I express are mine alone, based on my own experiences, and should not be taken as medical advice. Please feel free to share but do not steal. Feel free to disagree with me but I reserve the right to delete any comment for any reason (offensive, abusive, profane, or rude etc.) If you like what you see, let me know. Thanks!
